Is it possible to be conscious and an arsehole?

et

 

Recently, there has been SO MUCH talk of non-duality in my life it’s suffocating.  It seems that everywhere I look, I am confronted by the idea that it is what it is, and that’s that.  Now I get it- I really do!  However, the question arose in my mind- where does compassion come into it?

Now from one angle, radical non-duality is completely in-compassionate: it confronts the “you” like a fog horn in the dead of night.  But the whole point is that “you” are not the one you think you are!  And what radical non-duality does is tells you the ultimate truth as it is which is that “you” are not “you”, you are EVERYTHING(NOTHING)!  Therefore… there’s nothing to get because YOU ARE IT!

Interestingly, I only came across radical non-duality after I had a couple of perceived experiences of the not-I and so although my mind continually grasps at the words, my being knows intuitively this “message”.  However, I thought, if I had came across the message of what these teachers say before, my incessant mind would also have struggled on and on with it.

It then occurred to me there are two ways we could look at compassion and radical non-duality.  When the separate “I” ego (subject/object relation), interacts with “the other” (say you reading this), we both engage and maintain the subject/object relation which can only perpetuate that energy.  However, if I now operate from the perspective of the infinite, you reading this are not separate and the energy is transmutated, it is now the infinite calling itself the infinite, meaning the one writing is the same as the one reading- indeed “you” have written this to yourself, almost like a closed feedback loop.

Which one is more compassionate?  One way CAN perpetuate the subject/object relation (which is a lie) in order to participate in a perceived journey, but one way is the ultimate IMMEDIATE truth (but how does a closed feedback loop appear in a previously subject/object mode of experience?)…

The answer is both are completely compassionate, but the way the energy manifests is different.

Imagine a river that has been split into two directions because of a fallen tree.  The previously single river has now been diverted into two smaller rivers.  The left side of the river takes the direction of a forest and has to meander around many trees before reaching the beach and then the sea.  The right side of the river followed the rivers’ original course, a direct route straight through to the sea…  the end result is that both rivers reach and merge with the sea- does the sea differentiate between the rivers?  No, it just absorbs them both instantaneously.  Could you say that the sea was more or less compassionate to one?  No, of course not!  The water just flowed, as is its nature.

Radical non-duality has NO COMPASSION for the ego, the “I”, this is true- but the ultimate truth is that you are NOT the ego, the I, so there is no “I” to NOT BE compassionate to!

This is the beauty of the universe- the infinite can only be if there is the finite and this is where concepts are transcended and EVERYTHING becomes paradox.

Radical non-duality isn’t so radical, it is the oldest (and only) trick in the book.

All that’s left to do is laugh at the biggest joke of them all… the only prank ever played (that never happened!).

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. I like how you state the idea of

    [you reading this are not separate and the energy is transmutated, it is now the infinite calling itself the infinite, meaning the one writing is the same as the one reading- indeed “you” have written this to yourself, almost like a closed feedback loop]

    This resonates to me as looking at the universe as one. Us interacting with a part of ourselves. Like in dreams. Sometimes the people in my dreams say the exact thing I need to hear to realize I’m dreaming. In the dream realm it’s easier to understand that it is myself helping myself. Or in other situations, myself blocking myself. But people often find it more difficult to grasp the same concept in the waking world. I too can struggle with this when caught up in the drama of life, same way I can be caught up in the drama of a dream. Yesterday, I wrote about the similarities in dream world vs waking world. This idea (not idea, but to me truth that all is one) is nothing new, though the term non-duality is something I only just heard for the first time a week ago. Interesting to now be reading it a second time. If you’re interested this is my post on dreaming vs awake https://gazedeeper.wordpress.com/2017/06/07/dream-world-vs-waking-world/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I take the EXACT same view. I first realised this through lucid dreaming (being the dream and the dreamer but experiencing the dream from a personal perspective… this then bled into my waking life). This is why I choose to teach lucid dreaming as a spiritual practice in order to “wake up”. The thing is- a lot of people that lucid dream or practice out of body, don’t realise that these aren’t objective experiences- the dream worlds/astral worlds are as much a mind projection as the waking state, but this seems to be where most people get stuck. A lot of people get fooled by the out of body experiences and think THAT is an objective state, but when you realise it is the ALL dreaming, every single layer of reality becomes unreal. And when you realise THAT, you are released from the concepts of karma and re-incarnation… indeed you are released from all seemingly external influences altogether as it is the mind forming it all!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

